The former Don Cossacks capital stanitsa Starocherkasskaya is located 35 km away from Rostov-on-Don, at the Don river upper current right bank. The stanitsa Starocherkasskaya is the most interesting and ancient site, connected with the Don Cossacks history on the Don land.
The Starocherkassk Historic Preserve protects the unique Don Cossacks monuments and historical items. The museum was established by the RSFSR Council of Ministers Decree after the project by the Russian writer M.A. Sholokhov on December 30, 1970.
The Historic Preserve presents the reserve territory of the former town of Cherkassk old center, with the area of 62,88 hectares, including over 100 civilian and cult architecture monuments: the most ancient temple on the Don land – the Military Resurrection Cathedral (1706 - 1719), featuring magnificent icons of the 18th-19th centuries, the only reserved ataman mansion on the Don land, the Cossack merchants’ homes of the 18th century, the Cossacks traditional houses, the most ancient churchyard on the Don land, etc. Besides, the museum complex includes three preserve areas: Anninskaya fortress (about 50,2 hectares), the Military Yard with the Transfiguration church (about 41 hectares) and the Monastery Yard (about 9,3 hectares).
Since 1979, the museum folklore collective group gives successful performances for the audience.